

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

July 20, 2016, 2:00 P.M. Room 419-C, State Capitol Building Oklahoma City, OK 73105

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:	Amy Bixler, Doug Brown *, Bruce Day, Dr. Bo Hannaford, Johnnie Parks, Dr. Kent Shellenberger and Secretary of Education Natalie Shirley
COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:	None
OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES:	Office of Educational Quality and Accountability Staff: Angie Bookout, Robert Buswell, Jennifer Gambrell, Dr. Jim Hawkins, Jerry Hsieh, Abby Murphey, Renee Launey-Rodolf, Lecrecia Schmidt and Jeff Wallace
VISITORS:	Dr. Debbie Landry, Northeastern State University; Christie Stephenson, Oklahoma State Department of Education; Todd Loftin, Oklahoma State Department of Education; Meagan Karvonen, University of Kansas; Christie Southern, eCapitol; Jake Yunker, Office of the Governor

Call to Order: Secretary Shirley called the meeting to order at 2:03 PM.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Secretary Shirley asked for the roll call to be taken. Six Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Page 1 of 2

Welcome from Secretary Shirley: Secretary Shirley welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Approval of Minutes from the June 15, 2016 Commission Meeting: Dr. Shellenberger made a motion to approve the minutes of the June 15, 2016 Commission meeting as submitted. Dr. Hannaford seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	absent	Dr. Shellenberger:	approve
Mr. Parks:	approve	Secretary Shirley:	approve
Mr. Day:	approve		

*Mr. Brown arrived at 2:30 pm

Discussion and action on cut scores for Dynamic Learning Maps Science Assessment: Dr. Hannaford made the motion to approve cut scores for the Science Dynamic Learning Maps Assessment. Ms. Bixler seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler:	approve	Dr. Hannaford:	approve
Mr. Brown:	approve	Dr. Shellenberger:	approve
Mr. Parks:	approve	Secretary Shirley:	approve
Mr. Day:	approve		

Program updates: Program updates included P12 site visitor training, National Board Network meeting, Co-teaching training, CAEP accreditation visits, OGET focus groups, Data task force, Educational Indicators Program, School Performance reviews and 2015 School Profile Reports

New Business: None

Announcements and Informational Items: None

The meeting adjourned at 3:17 PM.

The minutes of the July 20, 2016 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted

with corrections

on August 12, 2016.

Signed:

Natalie Shirley, Chairman

Page 2 of 2